Playing AvP2 Again - Thoughts & Comments

Started by Corporal Hicks, Aug 09, 2010, 11:58:54 AM

Author
Playing AvP2 Again - Thoughts & Comments (Read 3,370 times)

Corporal Hicks

So I've been replaying AvP2. Just finished the Marine campaign and I'd forgotten just how much I enjoyed this game. I'm very fond of all the notes and datapads spread throughout the levels. There's some fantastic information in there which leads into the other campaigns nicely too (Eisenberg's father researching synthetic limbs and etc).

It's really making me want to learn to use the SDK and make some SP levels.  :)

Stalker

Strange coincidence, I just started playing again yesterday after not touching it for several months.

I've gotten about halfway through the predator campaign on hard difficulty so far. I'm still loving it just as much as the first time I played it.

I think one of the things that makes AvP 2 so truly special to this day is that it was made before the AvP films, meaning that its only influences were Predator 1/2 & the Alien Quadrilogy. With only the classic material in the game, uncorrupted by the shit we've seen in some of the more recent films, it really is a great nostalgia trip every time.

Le Celticant

There's something in AVP2 that can last forever.
I think it's due to the story, it's full of information and very complete for every species.
Also the fact that you always play in new environment no matter the species, Monolith made in sort that the 3 character join at one point but they never see each other again and they progress in different path.
Also, the datapad contain rich informations and expand you a bit the universe around the story.
Every character is great and they all have their own personality.
Eisenberg remind me a bit Gediman but the character has been worked more.