Triple Jointed Knees

Started by irving343, Jul 13, 2014, 04:44:35 PM

Author
Triple Jointed Knees (Read 9,166 times)

irving343

irving343

I'm hotly anticipating the game, everything is dead on, except for one thing, the Xenomorph's legs, they just don't sit well with me, anyone else feel the same way?

thecaffeinatedone

thecaffeinatedone

As long as whatever we get is great gameplay on top of the already good graphics then I'm fine with the legs.

Gate

Jenga

Jenga

I'm a creature artist and I had the same complaint. It's frustrating to seem them go so far to recreate the look and feeling of the origina film and then make such a huge design change to the alien itself. I read in one of the interviews scanned into the gallery on this site that they made the change because they felt that having the original humanoid leg alien would feel too much like a man in a suit. I personally think they should have gone whole hog and faithfully re-created the whole body of the alien but ultimately if it's animated well it won't matter. It is annoying it's like perfectly re-creating a Indiana Jones in a game but giving him Crocodile Dundee's hat. It's not going to affect the story or the action but it breaks immersion.

thecaffeinatedone

thecaffeinatedone

QuoteIt is annoying it's like perfectly re-creating a Indiana Jones in a game but giving him Crocodile Dundee's hat. It's not going to affect the story or the action but it breaks immersion.

True! But, whereas you can clearly see that Indiana Jones isn't really wearing a crocodile dundee hat, you can't really say the same about the alien's legs. Yes, there are shots where the alien's legs are shown, but a lot of them don't show the legs, sans a few, and audiences probably won't remember that detail.

Jenga

Jenga