"Giger's Alien" and "H. R. Giger's Film Design" book info needed

Started by mikkoras, Aug 21, 2012, 11:54:51 AM

Author
"Giger's Alien" and "H. R. Giger's Film Design" book info needed (Read 4,847 times)

mikkoras

Hello.

Newbie here.

I recently bought the book "H. R. Giger's Film Design" (http://www.amazon.com/H-R-Gigers-Film-Design/dp/1883398061).

Anyone know how does it compare to this one:
"Giger's Alien" (http://www.amazon.com/Gigers-Alien-H-R-Giger/dp/1883398088)

Mainly I would like to know if there is duplicate content and if there is, how much.

Thanks in advance.

SiL

Most of the stuff in Film Design is in Giger's Alien, but there are a few images -- like an early mockup chest burster, as far as I could tell -- that aren't in Giger's Alien.

mikkoras

Thanks for the info, but could you answer the same question in reverse.

As in, how much extra stuff is there in "Giger's Alien" compared to "Film Design"? Is it worth buying "Giger's Alien" if one already owns "Film Design", "Book Of Alien" and "Alien Vault".

SiL

I'm not sure about Alien Vault, as I haven't read it, but I'd say yes. I'm certain all of the images have, at some stage, made it into the DVD, blu-ray, and endless other "making-of" publications, but it also has Giger's commentary on the project from his first discussions with O'Bannon, right up until the finished picture. If you're interested in Giger's involvement in the production it's a fairly invaluable resource just for the insight he gives into what went on.

SM

If I was going to buy books now, knowing about the content, I think the only one I'd get would be Giger's Alien.  All the stuff in Book Of Alien and Alien Vault has been exhaustively discusssed on LD, DVD and BR releases.  I've not read Giger's Alien, but bits I've heard about indicate it contains some tidbits that haven't popped up elsewhere.

LarsVader

Quote from: SM on Aug 22, 2012, 11:56:53 PM