The Sneaker (Stop-Motion Short)

Started by Nightmare Asylum, Jun 27, 2015, 01:47:50 PM

Author
The Sneaker (Stop-Motion Short) (Read 832 times)

Nightmare Asylum

Hello all! A few days ago I finished up a short I made for a stop-motion animation class I took over the summer. Thought I'd post it here in case any of you were interested. This is my first time doing stop-motion, so it's a little rough around the edges, but I'm pretty happy with it overall. Incredibly time consuming work, but also a ton of fun; I can't wait to get started and do more at some point.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFAVWQLsdwU

Corporal Hicks

Corporal Hicks

I wouldn't have described it as rough around the edges. I can't say there was anything in there that I thought was rough! It was fun! I liked the exaggerated sound effects - was that you?

Only thing that I think I would have benefited from some change was to change the mouth when the alien was heavy breathing.

What do you have planned for another project?

Nightmare Asylum

Thanks a lot man! Most of the sound effects came from online, though I recorded a few of them myself (mostly any ripping or peeling sound was me, and obviously the voiceovers.) There are a few moments where I wish I could have moved the mouth, but I didn't really get an idea on how to do so until I shot the bit with the flattened alien and the credits scene (which I think was good in theory, but the movements could have been handled a bit better).

Don't have anything specific in mind just yet, but I think for the next stop-motion I do I'd like to do it entirely stop-motion, no live action. Confine it to a small set that I build up. I'm thinking of going for something with a bit of a gothic horror vibe to it, but its gonna take a lot of planning before I really get going.

OmegaZilla

OmegaZilla

I think you can go next with an articulated action figure or something like that. Building armatures and stop-motion puppets is relatively easy too, on a budget.