Not Interested In Anything

Started by overthere, Feb 27, 2017, 01:30:35 AM

Author
Not Interested In Anything (Read 1,635 times)

overthere

overthere

I have a masters degree in electrotechnical technologies which specializes in electronics aboard a ship, but recently I've come to grips with the fact I lack any real interest in the field.

My current job is not related to electronics and I basically barely needed high school to be able to work on this position, and the money is just good enough for a fresh out of college guy who could use a stepping stone, but the problem is, I just don't see myself getting a better job due to my lack of skill and interest in the field I studied.

I don't think I'm cut out to work on a ship either. That would mean months and months away from home, on a ship where I wouldn't even see land for weeks. I think I'd go crazy. But, if I stay on this job, I'll never see any real money, and I predict times are going to get hard enough that I could use some real savings.

But I'm just not interested enough in the field to compete on land. I don't know what to do. I can't force myself to get interested, but this way it's a waste of a degree. I'd like to think I'm capable of more than what I'm doing now, but I don't show any signs of it.

I don't know...just needed to vent. Anyone here not passionate about anything too?

whiterabbit

whiterabbit