How good is the firepower in Aliens compared to what we have today?

Started by shadowedge, Mar 25, 2012, 04:18:46 AM

Author
How good is the firepower in Aliens compared to what we have today? (Read 9,069 times)

shadowedge

I am not an expert at guns at all. I don't really know anything about them really. That said how does the firepower in Aliens compare to what we give our modern military today?

The M41A Pulse Rifle

M56 Smartgun

Hick's Shotgun

M240 Flamethrower

Pistol

UA571-C Remote Automated Sentry System

Also how much damage would the above weapons do compared to what we have available today?

MrSpaceJockey

"We're calling in chupacabras acheronsis ASAP!"

OpenMaw

Quote from: shadowedge on Mar 25, 2012, 04:18:46 AM
I am not an expert at guns at all. I don't really know anything about them really. That said how does the firepower in Aliens compare to what we give our modern military today?

The M41A Pulse Rifle

M56 Smartgun

Hick's Shotgun

M240 Flamethrower

Pistol

Also how much damage would the above weapons do compared to what we have available today?

Well, with some of those weapons they do exactly what the modern equivalants do. The Shotgun and Flamethrower perform just as modern versions would.

The pistol, no idea.

The Pulse Rifle fires some kind of a futuristic ammunition "10MM explosive tipped caseless." They are an AP round as Gorman says. So... Well, they pack a lot of punch, and seem to crack the armor of the aliens very nicely. This can also be contrasted with the pistol, which the ammunition in those seems to just bounce off the armor unless it's at point blank range.

The Smartgun, as the name implies has some kind of "smart" tracking. (I'm assuming this is similar to the motion tracker in some fashion). Whether it fires the same kind of 10MM ammunition as the Pulse Rifle is unknown, the movie never really tells us. Though i'd imagine that it does.